0 Flares 0 Flares ×


Brent Musburger to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

Nominees to be Honored During the May 9th Ceremony
At Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall

New York, NY – March 30, 2017 – The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) today announced the nominees for the 38th Annual Sports Emmy® Awards.

“Today we honor the men and women who bring us the kaleidoscope of ‘live’ entertainment that is sports television,” said Bob Mauro, President, NATAS. “Through the marvel of our digital world, the sports community brought us front and center into history making moments, whether it be in our family rooms, at the corner sports bar or on our cell phones and tablets. Beginning with a buzzer beating shot leading to Villanova’s victory in the Final Four, to watching LeBron James bring Cleveland back from the brink in the NBA playoffs, and then follow that with the Rio Olympic Games watching gymnastics phenomenon Simone Biles and the most decorated Olympian ever, Michael Phelps, and we already had memories galore. And that was only half the year! Then the world watched the Chicago Cubs win the incredible 7th game of the World Series, the last second win by Clemson over Alabama in the College Football Championship and then top it off with the extraordinary Super Bowl victory from Tom Brady and the New England Patriots and it just doesn’t get better than this!”

“It has been another outstanding year for the sports television industry and the quality of this year’s record number of entries continues to raise the bar of what sports programming can be,” said Steve Ulrich, Senior Vice President of the Sports Emmy Awards. “With Brent Musburger being recognized for his almost 50 years in sports television, it will be a grand night as we celebrate this stellar cast of nominees on May 9th at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall.”

Nominations were announced in 41 categories including Outstanding Live Sports Special, Live Sports Series and Playoff Coverage, three Documentary categories, Outstanding New Media, Outstanding Play-by-Play Announcer and Studio Host, among others.

Yangaroo, Inc. is the official provider of the Digital Media Distribution System Awards Management Solution (“DMDS”) for the submission, judging and voting of all categories for the 38th Annual Sports Emmy Awards. Accounting services for the competition are provided by the firm of Lutz & Carr, LLP. United Airlines is the official airline of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.


About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional, non-profit service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of over 15,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country.  Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public. For Press information, please contact:  Paul Pillitteri, SVP, Communication/NATAS

Click here for the Sports Emmy Awards Facebook Page
Click here for the Sports Emmy Twitter Page

NATAS PR LA /Social Media Contacts:
B. Harlan Boll – 626-296-3757
Lisa England –