0 Flares 0 Flares ×

New award honors aspiring Hispanic and Latino broadcasters

NEW YORK — June 6, 2016 — The Foundation of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) today announced four $10,000 scholarships awarded to college-bound high school students pursuing careers in television.

In addition to the three annual scholarships offered by the Foundation this year, the Board of Trustees, recognizing the industry contributions of Univision Communications Inc. (UCI) President and CEO Randy Falco, decided to add a fourth scholarship honoring Hispanic and Latino students. This new scholarship, the Randy Falco Scholarship, is awarded alongside the Trustees’ Scholarship and ones honoring broadcasting legends Jim McKay and Mike Wallace.

“Encouraging the next generation of television professionals is an integral part of our mission to honor excellence in television,” said Chuck Dages, Foundation Chairman, NATAS. “The amount of talent and passion shown by these young people looking to enter our industry continues to impress and astound us. With the addition of the Randy Falco Scholarship honoring Hispanic and Latino students, we continue to recognize the legacies of Jim McCay and Mike Wallace and shine a light on those that will one day be the leaders of our iconic industry.”

“By investing in the great talents of the future, we reaffirm the standard of creative achievement reflected in the Emmy® Award and the lasting legacy of two great practitioners of our craft,” said NATAS Foundation Vice President Adam Sharp, a 1996 Trustees’ Scholarship winner. “These scholarships mark an unbroken line of excellence connecting two generations of broadcasters.”

This year’s honorees are:

scholar_winner_2016_nishaNisha Lakhiani of Laredo, Texas

Randy Falco Scholarship ($10,000)

The daughter of a Hindu father and Latina mother, Nisha cites her bicultural heritage as a profound influence informing her creative works. She is graduating from J.B. Alexander High School in Laredo, Texas, and will attend Princeton University in the fall.


scholar_winner_2016_haleyHaley Barngrover of Saginaw, Texas

NATAS Trustees Scholarship ($10,000)

Haley is the first honoree to be recognized particularly for scenic design. Her application included examples of sets she designed, as well as a pair of gripping short scripts. After graduating from W.E. Boswell High School in Fort Worth, she is headed to University of Texas at Austin to major in Radio-Television-Film.

scholar_winner_2016_philipPhillip Bootsma of Miami, Florida

Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship ($10,000)

Phillip’s creative works including sideline interviews and a documentary piece on the maker of custom athletic cleats reflected his articulated ambition of becoming a cameraman for the NFL. After graduation from Christopher Columbus High School in Miami, he is enrolled at Florida International University for the fall.


scholar_winner_2016_jordanJordan Elder of Kansas City, Missouri

Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship ($10,000)

An active student journalist and member of student government at Park Hill High School in Kansas City, Jordan plans to hone her skills while exploring markets across the country on the path to her aspiration of anchoring a network newscast. Her next stop is the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism at Arizona State University.

The Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship, now in its seventh year, honors sportscaster Jim McKay (1921-2008) and was established in 2009 by the CBS, ESPN, FOX, HBO and NBC networks. This is the fourth year of the Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship, funded by a five-year grant from CBS News in honor of longtime correspondent Mike Wallace (1918-2012).

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of over 15,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.  For more information, please visit the website at


For more information, please contact:

Paul Pillitteri, SVP, PR & Communications,