0 Flares 0 Flares ×

Submissions Now Being Accepted
Until March 10
Apply at

New York, NY – January 21, 2014 – NEW YORK — The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) are honoring legendary broadcasters Mike Wallace and Jim McKay by awarding scholarships in their names to college-bound students aspiring to careers in television.

The $10,000 awards are granted to outstanding high school seniors who intend to follow communications-related baccalaureate degrees in pursuit of a career in any aspect of the television industry.

“Last year’s competition was one of the most diverse and contested in the Academy’s nearly 20-year history of recognizing student potential with college scholarships,” said NATAS Foundation Vice President Adam Sharp, himself a 1996 awardee of a NATAS Scholarship.

“Not only do these grants expand student opportunity in the face of rising tuition costs, they also recognize the excellence of luminaries past with a meaningful down payment on television’s vibrant future,” Sharp added.

The Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship is now in its second year of a five-year grant funded by CBS News in honor of longtime correspondent and his Emmy® Award winning television news career. The Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship, now in its fifth year, honors Emmy® Award winning sports journalist Jim McKay and was established in 2009 by grants from HBO, CBS, NBC, ABC and FOX networks.

The Scholarships are administered and judged by the Trustees of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences who, with its regional chapters, view student applications and creative works.  Once the process is completed, the NATAS Scholarship Committee meets in New York City to review their determinations and make final selections in April, 2014.  Each scholarship will be awarded to a college-bound applicant who demonstrates exceptional talent as a creator of video programming as well as outstanding academic achievement and potential for success in a highly competitive profession.

The online application for both scholarships is available at  The deadline for submissions is 5 pm EST on Monday, March 10, 2014.

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of over 13,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country.  Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.  For more information, please visit the website at

For more information, please contact:
Paul Pillitteri, Director, Communications,