0 Flares 0 Flares ×


NEW YORK — August 11th, 2015 – The Foundation of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) awarded scholarships to three college-bound students pursuing careers in television, the organization announced today. The awards include a Trustees’ Scholarship of $40,000 and two $10,000 scholarships honoring legendary journalists Mike Wallace and Jim McKay.

“By investing in the great talents of the future, we reaffirm the standard of creative achievement reflected in the Emmy® and the lasting legacy of two great practitioners of our craft,” said NATAS Foundation Vice President Adam Sharp, a 1996 Trustees’ Scholarship winner. “The scholarships mark an unbroken line of excellence connecting two generations of broadcasters.”

“The next generation of broadcasters and journalists are already changing the face of television as we know it,” said Bob Mauro, President, NATAS. “We are proud to encourage and support these talented students who with their technological prowess and creativity will continue to bring innovation and excellence to the evolving landscape of media and television in the 21st century.”

This year’s honorees are:

Matthew Foundoulis of Laguna Hills, California


NATAS Trustees Scholarship ($40,000 over four years)

A graduate of Laguna Hills High School in Laguna Hills, Calif., Matthew was recognized with a screening of his short film “Ghosts” at the June meeting of the NATAS Board of Trustees in San Diego. Already a talented writer, producer and director, Matthew will be pursuing a TV production degree at New York University.


Matthew Cappucci of Plymouth, Massachusetts


Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship ($10,000)

An aspiring broadcast meteorologist and youngest-ever presenter at a conference of the American Meteorological Society, Matthew is a graduate of Sturgis Charter Public School East in Hyannis, Mass., and will be attending Harvard University. He was an honored guest at the 2015 Boston/New England Emmy Awards on May 30th, 2015, and will be formally recognized at the News & Documentary Emmy Awards in September.


Julia Wilson of Ocala, Florida


Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship ($10,000)

Julia’s submitted works from Vanguard High School in Ocala, Fla., spanned multiple genres of nonfiction television, including hard news, feature news, and public service announcements. Her commentary on cyber-bullying in the run-up to a big game against a rival school was featured at the Sports Emmy Awards on May 5th, 2015. She will be attending the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

This is the third year of the Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship, funded by a five-year grant from CBS News in honor of longtime correspondent Mike Wallace (1918-2012) and presented each year at the News & Documentary Emmy Awards.

The Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship, now in its sixth year, honors sports journalist Jim McKay (1921-2008) and was established in 2009 by the CBS, ABC NBC, FOX and HBO networks. It is presented annually at the Sports Emmy Awards.

The $40,000 Trustees’ Scholarship was reestablished by the NATAS Board of Trustees to recognize an applicant to our various scholarship programs who submitted an outstanding body of work and may also have been honored with a chapter scholarship in 2014 and nominated by that chapter for further national consideration. The 19 regional NATAS chapters award more than $210,000 in scholarships annually.

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of over 14,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.  For more information, please visit the website at

The Emmys on the Web:

NATAS Press Contact:
Paul G. Pillitteri
SVP, Communications

NATAS PR LA/Social Media Contacts:
Harlan Boll / 626-296-3757
Lisa England