0 Flares 0 Flares ×

New York – August 20, 2014 – The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) today announced the winners of the Jim McKay and Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarships.

The Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship, now in its fifth year, honors sportscaster Jim McKay.  This is the second year of the Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship, honoring longtime CBS newsman Mike Wallace.

“The Jim McKay and Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarships reflect the best traditions of NATAS, honoring the contributions of two great broadcasters as well as the creative and academic achievements of a new generation,” said Adam Sharp, Chair, NATAS Scholarship Committee.

“This year was incredibly competitive,” said Sharp. “We introduced an improved system for entrants and judges alike which allowed our students to show their best work.   The exemplary quality of submissions was astonishing as the bar these high school students are achieving continues to rise.

“Not only do these grants expand student opportunity in the face of rising tuition costs, they also recognize the excellence of luminaries past with a meaningful down payment on television’s vibrant future,” Sharp added.

These scholarships are available to outstanding high school seniors from across the United States who intend to pursue communications-related baccalaureate degrees in pursuit of a career in any aspect of the television industry.

Each of this year’s scholarships is awarded to a college-bound applicant who demonstrates exceptional talent as a creator of video programming as well as outstanding academic achievement and potential for success in a highly competitive profession.


The $10,000 Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship

Given in memory of legendary sportscaster Jim McKay and funded in equal parts by ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, and HBO.

Awarded to Dylan Malburg of Grand Rapids, Michigan
Dylan will attend NYU and plans to pursue a career in television.



The $10,000 Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship

Given in memory of legendary newsman Mike Wallace and funded by CBS News.

Awarded to Olivia DeLaurentis of Westlake Village, California
Olivia is attending UCLA in its new pilot program for film.
She plans to pursue a career in television.


Scholarship Honorable Mention



Awarded to Tyler Hardin of Greensboro, North Carolina
Tyler will be pursuing a Broadcast Media degree at
Appalachian State University in Boone, NC.
He plans to pursue a career in television.

For more information on the NATAS’ scholarship programs, please visit our website at

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of 13,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country.  Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including its regional Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.  For more information, please visit the website at

Press Contacts regarding Scholarships:
Robert Lazo, Director, Chapter Relations,