90 Flares Twitter 20 Facebook 68 Google+ 0 Pin It Share 0 LinkedIn 2 StumbleUpon 0 Email -- 90 Flares ×

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences is a professional association dedicated to the advancement of television and related electronic media and best known for its Emmy Awards that recognize excellence in a number of categories. The Academy also sponsors programs, seminars, and scholarships for high school and colleges in cities served by the 19 local chapters. In addition, the National Organization, through its non-profit Foundation, awards scholarships to outstanding high school seniors who intends to pursue a baccalaureate degree in communications with emphasis on any aspect of the television industry.



Jim McKay and Mike Wallace
Memorial Scholarships

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) is honoring legendary broadcasters Mike Wallace and Jim McKay by awarding scholarships in their names to college-bound students aspiring to careers in television.

The $10,000 awards are granted to outstanding high school seniors who intend to follow communications-related baccalaureate degrees in pursuit of a career in any aspect of the television industry.

The Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship is now in it’s second year of a five-year grant funded by CBS News in honor of longtime correspondent and his Emmy® Award winning television news career. The Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship, now in its fifth year, honors Emmy® Award winning sports journalist Jim McKay and was established in 2009 by grants from HBO, CBS, NBC, ABC and FOX networks.

The Scholarships are administered and judged by the Trustees of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences who, with its regional chapters, view student applications and creative works. Once the process is completed, the NATAS Scholarship Committee meets in New York City to review their determinations and make final selections in April, 2014. Each scholarship will be awarded to a college-bound applicant who demonstrates exceptional talent as a creator of video programming as well as outstanding academic achievement and potential for success in a highly competitive profession.

The application will require:

  • Your contact information
  • Your current GPA and College Board scores (SAT or ACT)
  • Examples of recent creative works, including links to videos (if available) hosted on a third-party service such as YouTube or Vimeo
  • Examples of recent field or work experience and school activities participated in
  • Two written essays:

1. Career Aspirations Essay — A single-page essay that describes what you would like to do upon graduation from high school. Indicate which colleges or universities you would like to attend and your reason for their selection. Also indicate the kinds of employment you hope to obtain once you complete your college education.

2. 2. Creative Essay — An additional essay of no more than two pages that deals with the following topic: Which continuing television program, past or present, has most influenced your life and why? (Be sure to select a multiple-episode program, not a single program or mini-series. Also, do not select a newscast or news-oriented program such as 60 Minutes or Frontline.)

The deadline for all entries has passed


Funds for the Jim McKay Scholarship have been provided, in equal parts, by the
following five networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, and HBO. Funding for the Mike Wallace Scholarship has been provided exclusively by CBS. The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences gratefully acknowledges these contributions.

Past Winners


Bradley Blackburn
Julia Chan

Stephen Stephanian
Brittany Newsome

Jason Berman
Clayton Jeter

Matthew Gray
Powell Weaver

Jared Amos
Jennifer Lynn Bruwelheide

Jill Inkrott
Terri Mosqueda

Adam McMahon
Bradford Scott Luck

Joanne Nucho
Elizabeth Poyer

Adam Sharp
Corey Elizabeth Campbell

David Gatwood
Kent Lambert


John Cannon
Memorial Scholarship

Avi Edelman

Brent Yontz

Emily Miles

Ann Elizabeth Clark

Danielle Schafer