0 Flares 0 Flares ×


New York’s Metropolitan Museum of Art and
the College Board To Receive Special Recognition To Receive First Broadband Emmy
For Public And Community Service

New York, N.Y. – September 21, 2006 – The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences today announced the nominations for this year’s Public & Community Service Emmy® Awards. The awards will be presented at a luncheon ceremony on Thursday, October 19, at the Rainbow Room in New York City.

The awards will be presented in four categories. The Community Service Emmy will be presented to a local television station or cable company for a campaign or series that provides an example of outstanding service to its community. In addition, two awards for Outstanding Public Service Announcement, one national and one local, are presented each year. For the first time this year, a Community Service Emmy Award will be presented for programming distributed via Advanced Media, including the Internet, cellphones, and personal media players.

“The nominations clearly demonstrate the continuing concern for a broad range of social issues that are being addressed by the media,” says Peter Price, President/CEO of The National Television Academy. “And the nominees understand the power of the media to improve the common good in their own communities and across the nation.”

In a special salute to arts and education, New York City’s Metropolitan Museum of Artand the College Board will be recognized at this year’s Public & Community Service Emmy Awards. Emily Kernan Rafferty, President, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, and Gaston Caperton, President, College Board and former Governor of West Virginia, will accept their respective Emmy Awards.

In addition, the first Public & Community Service Emmy Award for programming distributed via Advanced Media will be awarded to, an interactive website that educates children about the dangers of smoking in an entertaining way. Research by the sponsoring organization, American Legacy Foundation/Truth, has shown that, in 2002, there were approximately 300,000 fewer youth smokers due to The website content was created by Arnold Worldwide of Boston.

The winners for other three categories will be announced at the awards ceremony on October 19. The nominees, announced today, are:

Community Service

Al Roker Investigates:                    Court TV
Horrors of Hazing/Menance on Main Street/Kids, Cards & Dice

MtvU’s Sudan Campaign               MTVu

Y…Valio la Pena?                           KMEX-TV Univision
Los Angeles

TBS Pathfinders                             TBS Atlanta

Meth In Tennessee                        WKRN-TV Nashville

National Public Service Announcement

The Talk/Joint Man                           Partnership for a Drug Free America/                                                    Goodby, Silverstein & Partners

Know HIV/AIDS:Cynthia/Ed                           Kaiser Family Foundation/
Viacom/DDB Seattle

Truth Found                                American Legacy Foundation/Truth/
Good Samaritans/Profiles/
Fang Arnold Worldwide

Black History is Our History:                          TVLand, Nick@Nite
Civil Rights Televised/To Me/
A Place for Me

Think Sexual Health: Ask Your Doctor:                    Kaiser Family Foundation/MTV
The Passive Aggressive Mutter/
The Overzealous Blurt/Random Segue


Local Public Service Announcement

Respect:                                       de la Cruz & Associates/
Bump/Bus/Lady in Car
Ogilvy Puerto Rico

Horizon’s for Homeless Children          Citizen’s Bank Boston/Arnold Worldwide

Redemption                      West Virginia University/
Banyan Communications

Lead Alert                          New Jersey Department of Community                                                                                               Affairs/ NJN Public Television

The National Television Academy is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime, Creative Arts, Public & Community Service, Technology & Engineering/Advanced Media and Business & Financial Reporting. Excellence in Primetime programming and international programming is recognized by its affiliate, the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.   Regional Emmys are given in 19 regions across the United States. Beyond awards, the National Television Academy has extensive educational programs including National Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.  For more information, please visit the website