0 Flares 0 Flares ×


Winners from Florida, Tennessee, Ohio, Kansas, Michigan And Two from the State of Illinois

New York, N. Y. – April 10, 2007 – Seven television productions, created by high school students around the country and covering a diversity of topics from teenage depression to the delightful story of a Belarusian child growing up in America to a look at the lives of several 9/11 survivors, have been named winners of the National Student Awards for Excellence presented by The Foundation of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, the professional organization that presents television’s coveted Emmy® Awards. Each winner, chosen from 600 high school entries, will receive a crystal pillar engraved with a replica of the Emmy® Award, at a ceremony in New York City at the new Hearst Tower on Tuesday, May 1 attended by 300 television industry leaders, including the National Television Academy’s Board of Trustees.

The winners of this year’s National Student Television Awards, known as the “Student Emmy® Awards,” include: Blue Valley Schools Broadcast Technology, Overland Park, Ks., for News for “Olga: Growing Up in America,” the story of a Belarusian child who blossoms while growing up in her adopted country; Highland Park High School, Highland Park, Ill. for Arts & Entertainment, Cultural Affairs for “What’s On Your Screen,” a weekly program that reviews pop culture television and events and is seen at the school and on YouTube.com;Team BCVI – Boyne City High School, Boyne City, Mich. for Documentary for “Mythbusters – The Myth You’ve Heard a Thousand Times…,” a program that spoofs the popular Discovery Channel series, “Mythbusters” and was telecast on the Discovery Channel’s parody special; Lake Gibson High School, Lakeland, Fl. — the Hubbard Family Public Affairs/Community Service/Public Service Award for “Depression Awareness,” a series of three public service announcements on teen depression, Amherst Steele High School, Amherst, Ohio for Sports for ‘Girl Among Boys- A Three Part Series,” a different look at sports as girls challenge boys,Chicago Vocational Career Academy, Chicago, Ill. for Technical Achievement for “The Last Stain,” the story of two “small time stick up” kids who question whether hustling is really worth their lives; and Germantown High School, Germantown, Tenn. for Writing for “September 11th, 2001: The Story of NABE and AUBER,” a compilation of accounts from various economists who attended a conference at the World Trade Center Marriott on 9/11 and escaped the terrorist attack.

“This year’s competition has exceeded our expectation on every level,” said Av Westin, Executive Director of The Foundation and a veteran ABC News and CBS News producer/executive. “The production values this year were very high, approaching professional grade while the journalism and storytelling was compelling and technically excellent. The student’s work is credit to them, their teachers and the schools that support their television curriculum. The National Television Academy is proud to honor them.”

Now in its fifth year, the National Student Television Awards for Excellence is part of the National Television Academy’s nationwide ongoing commitment to educating the next generation of broadcast journalists and promotes “best practices” to high school producer/writer teams by using a curriculum based on two books by Mr. Westin. An award-winning producer himself, Westin has won six Emmy® Awards, three Alfred I. Dupont-Columbia University Awards, two George Polk Awards, four Peabody Awards and the Albert Lasker Medical Journalism Award.

The National Student Awards for Excellence winners were selected in a two-step process with judges first naming regional winners in each of the National Television Academy’s 19 chapter regions. From these regional winners, the seven national winners were chosen by a blue ribbon panel from the television industry (many multiple Emmy® Award winners) and academia, including two former executive producers of network news magazine programs; a former executive producer of an arts and entertainment magazine series; a former network news senior producer; a former network field producer; a network documentary producer; a network technical manager and technical director; a post-production technical director and long-form editor; a former producer of sports personality profiles; a university professor of journalism and four previous recipients of the National Student Television Award for Excellence.

Student producer/writer teams from around the nation submitted entries in seven categories: News; Arts & Entertainment, Cultural Affairs; Documentary; Public Affairs/Community Service/Public Service; Sports; Technical Achievement; and Writing. All entries were originally broadcast, cablecast, or webcast within the eligibility period from February 1, 2006 to January 31, 2007.

The Foundation is the education arm of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. The Foundation’s mission is to recognize and support excellence in television through educational programs including National Student Television as well as university scholarships. The Foundation Chair is Stanley S. Hubbard, Chairman of Hubbard Broadcasting and Vice Chair is Dennis Swanson, President for Station Operations, Fox Television Stations. Av Westin, a veteran television news producer, is the Executive Director of the Foundation and creator of the National Student Television Curriculum. Peter O. Price is President and CEO of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.