0 Flares 0 Flares ×


New York, November 16, 2005 – Andrew Heyward, past president, CBS News, will address the Third Annual Emmy Awards for Business and Financial Reporting on Thursday, December 1 at the new New York City headquarters of Bloomberg. In remarks titled “It’s News to Me,” Heyward will discuss how the digital revolution will affect television journalism.

The awards, which recognize achievement in business and financial reporting in eight categories, will be presented by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences at a luncheon ceremony. In addition, as previously announced, veteran CNN anchor Lou Dobbs will receive the Lifetime Achievement Emmy for Business and Financial Reporting.

“News has always been on the cutting edge of technology” says Peter Price, President and CEO of the National Television Academy. “The consumer’s desire to get their news anytime, anywhere has been a key driver in the emerging technologies and at the same time impacted the way journalists and media organizations deliver the news. Andrew Heyward has a unique perspective on the digital revolution and its impact on television journalists, and we are delighted to have him as our guest speaker.”

Price sees a growing role for The National Television Academy in encouraging recognition for the role the new delivery platforms are playing in the television industry. Earlier this week, the National Television Academy announced that it will award a new category of Emmy for original programming created specifically for non-traditional viewing platforms, including computers, mobile phones, PDAs and similar devices. The new Emmy will first be presented at the 27th Annual Sports Emmy Awards May 1, 2006, and will also be awarded in 2006 during the News & Documentary Emmy, Business & Financial Reporting Emmy presentations, and in 2007 during the Daytime Emmy presentation.

Heyward was President, CBS News, from January 1996-November 2005. That tenure of nearly 10 years is the second longest of any president in the nearly 50-year history of CBS News.

Under Heyward’s dynamic leadership, CBS News’ tradition of journalistic quality and integrity was recognized with an extraordinary number of broadcast journalism’s most prestigious awards: 57 News and Documentary Emmys, 13 Peabody, 13 Alfred I. DuPont/Columbia University, six Overseas Press Club and 46 RTNDA/Edward R. Murrow Awards. This year alone, CBS News has been nominated for eight Emmys for Business and Financial Reporting — more than any other network.

Heyward also successfully spearheaded CBS News’ move into new media. Its award-winning website,, became increasingly competitive and was a leader in providing free, advertiser-supported broadband video and, in 2005, underwent a major expansion in conjunction with the newly created CBS Digital Media group. Heyward also was a key force in the establishment of the leading financial news website, CBS MarketWatch, and served on its board of directors from its founding in 1997 to its acquisition by Dow Jones in January 2005.

An award-winning producer and executive producer, Heyward has personally won 12 national Emmy Awards in his career. Before his tenure as President, Heyward was executive producer, CBS EVENING NEWS, and Vice President, CBS News (October 1994-January 1996).

Heyward was also responsible for developing and launching 48 HOURS, the primetime CBS News hour that premiered in January 1988. He was senior broadcast producer of the CBS EVENING NEWS WITH DAN RATHER (May 1986 October 1987). Prior to that, he was a senior producer of the CBS EVENING NEWS (1984 86), having joined the broadcast as a field producer in March 1981.

The National Television Academy is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime, Creative Arts, Public & Community Service, Technology & Engineering/Advanced Media and Business & Financial Reporting. Excellence in Primetime programming and international programming is recognized by its affiliate, the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. Regional Emmys are given in 19 regions across the United States. Beyond awards, the National Academy has extensive educational programs including National Student Television and its Student Award of Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public. For more information, please visit the website at